5 Screenshots from “Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic” That I’m Borderline Kin With

Alison Bechdel, well-known lesbian goddess, changed the lives of many a queer woman with her groundbreaking work, Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic.  As a well-known lesbian myself, I am legally obligated to own at least one copy of this book as well as have it more or less memorized front to back.  In doing my monthly read-through, there are always a couple panels that stick out to me as…. well….. #me.  So here’s 5 screencaps that made me go “I’m fucking kinning” the last time I dove into that sapphic wonderland:

5.)

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 1.50.33 AM

Something about the way she’s sitting, with her leg dangling gracefully out of the chair while undoubtably reading something fucking gay is just so #same.  Also I really fucking want one of those egg chairs.

4.)

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 3.02.51 AM

I don’t smoke, but this conveys such a lesbian #mood that it’s hard to pass by without going #aboutme.

3.)

bechdel icon

I’m fairly certain this is a physical picture of me doing class readings while stress eating garbage.

2.)

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 1.48.50 AM

This is literally what I am doing in this very moment holy fuck @me next time Alison!!!!!

1.)

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 1.56.06 AM

I’m kinning with this picture of a young Alison Bechdel kinning with a bulldogger who walked into a shitty diner.  Also I’m crying.

Leave a Reply

